The Taste of First Place

MarkT.PNG

Does first place ever taste bitter?

Sour, maybe?

It doesn’t seem like it ever does. For the first time ever, Joe Girardi’s Yankees are in first place in the AL East standings, and it’s a compelling feeling. It’s not a sweet, calming feeling; rather, it’s the feeling of domination over the other teams in the standings. For a while, the Red Sox have been dominating the American League East, and the Blue Jays were leading in it earlier this year, they were running 100 mph before slamming themselves into a wall. So now check out the white hot Yankees, all of a suddden they’re head honcho. Bow down to the kings!

We’ve got pitching, hitting, defense and we do everything we need to to win. We are the 2009 Yankees, and as you can tell, we feel pretty confident right now.

But wouldn’t you feel the same if your ballclub was so darn good? And don’t deny it, we are fabulous.

File:Phobia-Breaking Benjamin album.jpg

…I don’t know what else to talk about. Ooo, Phobia by Breaking Benjamin‘s a fantastic album and if you are a modern rock fan, you should undoubtably buy that album. I bought it off iTunes a few days ago, and it’s unbelievable. I listen to it whenever I get the chance to get a hold of my iPod, it’s so terrific, words cannot describe how I feel about this album. Have I emphasized my point enough? It’s amazing. Get it. Now!

Stay positive, Yankee fans!

-EJ the Kid From New York

4 comments

  1. welikeroywelikeroy

    I can’t believe the Jays held first place for basically the first two months of the season! It was a great feeling, but I have the feeling 1st place is going to change hands a number of times of the course of this season! I didn’t earlier, but I’m starting to really fear the Yankees now.
    http://homerfoodandhistory.mlblogs.com/

  2. bigpapi72

    Okay first off yes my comment about Varitek was not ignorant it was biassed. If Posada was third you would probably say the same thing.

    And you said Victor Martinez was blowing Varitek out of the water. In some stats like OBP and batting average yes. But Varitek has more homers then Martinez and only has ten more strikeouts them Martinez. He has ten homers while Martinez has 7. Varitek’s average is .239 while Martinez’s is .350. Tek has 19 runs, 33 hits, 22 RBI’s, 17 walks, 31 strikeouts, and on OBP of .327. Martinez’s stats include 33 runs, 69 hits, 36 RBI’s, 28 walks, 21 strikeouts, and an OBP of .350.

    You also said that Varitek had a better season last year when he was in a massive slump. Well last year Tek batted .220 with 13 home runs, 43 RBIs, and an OBP of .313. This year he is batting .239 with 3 less home runs then he had all of last year and about half the RBIs he had last year. His OBP is also higher.

    Yes I was wrong about Martinez but seriously. You really did not have to say that. You could have just said, “Martinez is having a better year because his stats are better then Varitek, blah, blah, blah.

    I actually voted for Jesus Flores five times even though he has only has 4 homers and 13 RBIs. Because I wanted to help you with your “campaign”.

    Bob, http://bostonsports.mlblogs.com/

Leave a comment